GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Fuel your mind, fuel your body: Fitness for Women

Leave a comment

So, there’s a lot of misinformation that circulates when it comes to fitness – especially for women. One of my fitness goals is to educate myself as much as possible on all things health and fitness so that I can spot the bullshit. Here’s what I’ve been reading this week:

Peculiarities of Female Training @ 70sBig.com

I’ve read before that women can handle a higher volume when it comes to training and reading this article this week was a helpful reminder. Lately, I’d been wondering why I didn’t feel like I’d put in 110% at the gym and after reading this article, I added in some volume work – a great decision. Also found it interesting to read about how women’s 3RM and 1RM tend to be much closer than in men – I can only say that I’ve experienced this in my upper body lifts.

The one thing that I will say is that even if women can handle more volume, I still refuse to drink the crossfit kool-aid as a matter of principle.

Shattering the Myth of Fasting for Women: A Review of Female-Specific Responses to Fasting in the Literature @Paleo for Women

This article was sent to me by a friend this week. It’s a bit of an older article, but she sent it to me because she is a big proponent of IF and I am trying to do it again, despite the fact that I usually give up on IF quite quickly. The science in this article is awesome and it took me a couple of tries to digest the whole thing. She is right to point out that a lot of fasting literature is male-focused, although I feel the same is true of almost all medical phenomena. I disagree somewhat with how quick she is to discount the evidence that has been found in men for its applicability to women, but at the same time, I just said I can’t stick to IF for any amount of time, so there is that…

 

I’m Still Waiting to Get Too Big @louschuler.com

I will always have a soft spot for the writings of Lou Schuler: the first lifting program I ever attempted was New Rules of Lifting for Women and although I’ve come a long way since then, I still retain a lot of the philosophy that he introduced me to. This article was particularly appealing this week, since one of my coworkers told me she didn’t lift as much as she could at the gym because she didn’t want to put on too much muscle. The more fit I become, the more my ideal body type shifts towards being more muscular, and after lifting for 9 months, I have to say that I’m still constantly disappointed by the amount of muscle that I’ve put on. I sometimes forget that other women don’t feel the same and I wish I could spread the Lou Schuler gospel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers