GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

May 21: Back to the gym

5 Comments

After I received my new toy, the BodyMedia, someone posted a comment asking how noticeable it is and honestly, it would be hard to overlook.

IMG_0648[1]

Reminds me of wearing an iPod Shuffle in an armband

Today was my first day wearing this baby to work, and since it was kind of chilly and generally miserable out, I opted for a cardigan, which did hide the thing, so I didn’t really get any comments today. There was one awkward moment where my boss made a joke and then gave me a friendly nudge…. right where the monitor was hidden by my sleeve. He didn’t say anything, but you could see the look of confusion pass over his face. He must think my biceps are rock hard.

I also wore this thing to the gym. I have decided to abandon a program for a while and just lift as I please. That way there’s no pressure and I stop losing strength. So today I went in and worked up to three heavy singles (270lbs) on squat, which is pretty similar to the last Sheiko workout I did, many moons ago. My hip felt better than it did when I squatted last week, though everything felt slow and choppy. I just need to remind myself how to squat, and when I filmed myself I was hitting depth, so it’s all good.

Following the squats, I hit 95x5x10 on bench, and then did some leg curls as my token accessory work. It was getting late at this point, so I opted for rowing 1000m on the erg as my “conditioning” for the day. This was partially to test out how the BodyMedia reacted: while I was not surprised that lifting is only registered as moderate activity, even the rowing didn’t count as “vigorous exercise”. Hrmph. I disagree.

On the subject of food: I seem to have accidentally slipped into a pretty Paleo diet. This was not a conscious decision by any means; the last time I tried to make the switch, I had a series of panic attacks and ended up gaining weight. And I’ve been listening to the entire archives of the Balanced Bites podcast at work, and there are still some pseudo-science facets of Paleo that I disagree with.

But, I own like one decent recipe book and that happens to be Practical Paleo. Since I can follow the recipes and end up with a pretty damn delicious meal, I’ve been using it to plan my meals for the week, and the result is that grains and dairy seem to have disappeared from my diet. I still have some oats and rice in my pantry that I will eat at some point, but I have to say that I feel a lot less bloated, which is nice. And several coworkers have commented on the fact that I have been cooking my own meals, which I was feeling good about, even before it became noteworthy.

Italian-style stuffed pepper with mashed apples and parsnips

Food Diary

Breakfast:

  • 2 apple streusel muffins
  • 3 strips of bacon
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • Bartlett pear
  • Large Coffee

AM Snack: 2 small nectarines

Lunch: Leftover spaghetti squash bolognese

PM Snack: Paleokit

Dinner: Italian-style stuffed pepper, Apple and parsnip mash

Calories Consumed: 1832

Calories Burned: 2642

5 thoughts on “May 21: Back to the gym

  1. Mashed apples and parsnips! YUM!!!

  2. Calories burned: 2642.

    What do you do at work, run marathons? :)

    (I must admit, I’m quite interested in this BodyMedia Fit experiment of yours. If these numbers pan out, I might have to start questioning how much I’m eating.)

    • Ya…. No marathons. I work a desk job for the government, and I did 0 minutes of “vigorous activity” yesterday. I’m surprised with how high these numbers are, so I have my fingers crossed this works…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers