GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

A better bench wench

Leave a comment

I was angry this morning when I found out that I’m still hanging out in the 84kg weight class. Then I had to go to the gym to lift and thinking about how shitty my bench is, I got even angrier. So I decided that instead of re-setting my bench for the 5 millionth time, I was going to channel all of my rage into a do-over of my work sets from Monday. It worked! I smashed my worksets and then put up 105lbs, which is a new max for me. Woohoo!

I watched some youtube videos on benching yesterday and showed my form check to a couple of people. This morning I focused on spending more time getting tight under the bar, getting into the right position for leg drive and setting my shoulders before pressing. All of those things still need work. What was probably the biggest improvement was the cue to push my chest upwards during the press. There is hope for me yet.

Granted, I was supposed to do some shoulder presses today, but I subscribe the fallacy that OHP doesn’t count for anything because it’s just an accessory lift for bench – and I need more benching, not just bench accessory work. It was also my deadlift day and therefore the best day of the week. 260×7, which I think is a rep PR for me. I fucking love deadlifting.

It’s funny, when I got to the gym this morning, one of the old guys was there and he was putting away plates. He asked me if I wanted the 45s left on the bench and I just laughed in his face. He said, “I’ve seen you deadlift. It’s better than mine. You could probably do it.” To which I replied, “Dude, you can bench press my deadlift – don’t think I didn’t notice that.” He seemed pretty chuffed. And of course I was happy that any guy would seriously give me the benefit of the doubt on a lift.

Lifting was basically the highlight of my day.  I wanted to go to the pool and practice drowning, but it doesn’t look like there’s any lanes open on Wednesday evenings. I still wanted to get some cardio in because I want my body to sort out whatever it’s doing with my weight, and the Army Run is on Sunday, so I ended up going for a run instead. Running is usually awful, but running outside when the temperature is mild and the sun is setting on the water was almost kind of nice. I think I might be sick and I’m not referring to the fact that my chest is congested.

Tonight’s run

All in all I feel pretty good, considering I had a killer lifting session and a decent run today, but I also had to squeeze in a nap. My goal for next week is to get to bed at a decent hour every night but in particular on Tuesday. I’m so meticulous about lifting and diet but then I don’t give two thoughts to rest and recovery and I think it’s holding me back. Who knows, maybe I could have benched 110 tonight if I’d slept for more than 4 hours.

Leave a Reply

