GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Goal setting and looking forward

Leave a comment

I was supposed to hit the gym today and resume lifting. My back is still feeling pretty stiff and I woke up with a wicked head cold, so I decided to listen to my body and wait an extra day. I often see posts online to the effect of, “OMG! I’ve got the sniffles! Should I go workout?” Generally, I try to workout even if I’m feeling slightly under the weather, and just have a lighter training day. But the cumulative effects of travelling this past weekend, the stress of the meet, school and work have all caught up with me, and the net results seems to be equivalent to bashing myself over the head with a sledgehammer. I know that I’ll be back at the gym tomorrow when I feel up to it, so in the long run it makes no difference and it’s not even worth mentioning.

So, in order to make myself feel productive, I’ve been re-evaluating my goals to try and figure out where I want to go. I think some changes are in order.

Diet

I’ve been eating 1300 cal/day pretty religiously for the past 7 weeks, and in the end it paid off because I was able to compete at 72 kg. I also entered BTFC with the goal of trying to get my weight down because it’s a high priority for me. But now I’m at a point where I’m sick of eating so little all of the time. I gave myself a vacation these past few days and ate whatever I wanted, which was a whole lot of junk food. I haven’t weighed myself, but I managed to get back on track today and I think as of tomorrow I am going to try something new.

In terms of lifting, it makes sense for me to maintain at the top of the 72 kg category for my meet in November. I would have to cut down pretty severely to get down to 63 kg, and I might not make it. Either way, I’d kill my strength when I should be trying to get as much as I can out of my remaining linear gains. Since aesthetics are still a long-term goal for me, and I still have BTFC floating around, I’m going to attempt a true LeanGains protocol, instead of just co-opting the feeding window. I’m going to aim for 1700 cal on lifting days and 1300 on rest days, and I’ll evaluate how that’s going on October 13th when I do my weekly weigh-in.

This cut is going to be a much slower pace than what I’ve been doing. I’m okay with that. Ya, I want to look hotter, but it’s hard to hate your body when you start judging it for what it can do and not what it looks like. To be honest, the thought of eating that many calories seems rather foreign after restricting myself for so long. I’m kind of excited to prove to myself that I can eat normally.

Lifting

I think I’m going to aim to total 325kg at Provincials. That would move my total up a class and it would put my wilks score well into the 300s. I considered aiming for 355kg which would be a Class 1 total, but that seems a little too overly ambitious and unobtainable for 6 weeks of training, especially now that I’m reaching the end of my linear gains.

I have some ideas for programming, and think I’m going to cobble together a couple of programs to try and hit on all of my goals. In terms of Squat and Deadlift, the goal is to get some Elite level numbers. That should be easy no matter what program I do. As I mentioned in my meet report, I really want to focus on improving my bench for Provincials. I’d be over the moon if I could get up to 135lbs once I fix all of my form issues, and I need to get to lmao1plate by the end of the year. I’m still trying to decide whether I want to give up OHP entirely while I train for the meet. I was considering going to the Nepean YMCA and hoping that one of the bench bros there would take pity on me and fix my bench. Instead, I found a club that I can get to via bus!

I e-mailed Hostyle Conditioning, yesterday. They offer a powerlifting class on Saturday afternoons and I’m going to go check it out this week. Dude is fucking strong, so hopefully I can steal his gains. I’ve been watching the videos on their website and their gym looks awesome – like an actual strength training gym! I’m really excited to go check it out. Hopefully I’ve found my people.

Leave a Reply

