GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

A Week of Breakfast

3 Comments

It’s been a while since I’ve talked about what I’m eating. I tend to eat the same foods over and over again until I’m sick of them, and then they fall out of favour for a while.

I went and watched Ms. Tali lift at her first meet this weekend. She got me Daryl’s cereal and set a new deadlift PR like it was nothing, so she is officially the most badass person ever. So one of the foods that I’m continuing to live off of is the bee cereal. It never gets old.

However, I do feel like I have an obligation as a responsible adult to eat more than just cereal for every meal. I’m trying to get my eating back on track for weight loss this week, but I’ve been doing LeanGains for so long that I have no idea what normal people eat to get their protein in the morning. I wandered around the supermarket last night trying to find something, and decided to try a Bolthouse Farms Protein Plus smoothie. It was delicious and one of the best impulse buys I’ve made in a while.

This stuff tastes like chocolate milk. When I was fatter, I could easily go through 2L of chocolate milk per day. Chocolate milk is delicious and the fact that it was banned from our house when I was growing up makes it even more enjoyable. Who doesn’t love the nectar of chocolate cows? And while I’m a pretty firm believer in IIFYM, it’s very rare that I can squeeze a cup of chocolate milk into a sensible meal plan.

I was also impressed with the fact that the single serving container boasted 29g of protein. I generally aim for 30g of protein in a meal, so this was a the perfect portable breakfast. Even though I knew that there was more than enough protein to keep me feeling full, I was a bit skeptical about having a liquid breakfast.  I used to find that liquids did nothing for my satiety and only added to my over inflated calorie-count for the day. But with the Protein Plus, I was full until around 11:45 when it was time to eat again, anyway. I’m pretty impressed to have found such a delicious tasting protein smoothie, and this is something that I will definitely buy again.

The other food that was mentioned to me by a friend was Eziekiel 4:9 which is sprouted grain bread. I don’t know why, but for some reason I had always operated under the assumption that this stuff was gluten free and intended for celiacs. Turns out I was wrong. It”s a complete protein which gives it a huge leg up over other breads, and it’s been a while since any bread has factored into my diet so this feels like a treat, too. It tastes like normal whole grain bread, although the taste is a little bit nuttier and slightly more bitter. I’ve been having a slice of toast with some butter, served alongside scrambled eggs, steamed spinach and some cottage cheese for supper. Cottage cheese is another one of those foods that I seem to be eating like it’s going out of style. I’ll have some more tonight with dinner, and I’m going to try some peanut butter on my toast which is going to be totally delicious, I already know it.

And rounding out this week’s parade of breakfast foods, I finally got around to trying a Iogo product. There has been so much advertising for this stuff and it seems to have cropped up everywhere overnight. I’m a slave to the advertising industry so it was only a matter of time. Apparently they are a Canadian company, so not sure how widespread their campaign has been, but their ads are notable because they’re selling yogurt without catering specifically to women or talking about poop.

But since yogurt is never just yogurt in this day and age, I went for the “Nomad” yogurt which basically means it’s drinkable and liquidy. I have to say that I like my yogurt like I like my men: Greek and thick. I will settle for less, but only begrudgingly and so I was bound to be disappointed.  I’ll have to try the Iogo Greko in order to give a fair review, but I wanted something I could pair with a Daryl’s bar in the morning, so portability won. Unfortunately, I was super disappointed with my limp, runny and bland “drinkable yogurt”. The taste was a little too subtle to the point of being non-existant, and I was ravenous long before lunch.

Oh, and since we’re talking about food, I feel obligated to confess that at some point today, I stopped and grabbed McDick’s. I can’t even say I regret it because I usually need some McNuggets every couple of months and I haven’t had any since August. This is why I am fat. It’s also why I can never claim to be even loosely paleo. And usually fast food is just fuel for fatness and doesn’t help me to achieve my goal of being super toned, but I’m going to go kill it on deadlifts tomorrow and then thank the gods of ChickieNobs. I think that’s what they mean by “balanced diet”, right?

Speaking of fatness: I’m going to take some progress pictures this weekend for my 6 weeks of BTFC and if I look even remotely better, then I’m going to focus on staying under 72kg and not worry about losing as much weight as possible before Christmas. I’m kind of starting to like my body, despite my chubbiness. But I feel like I’m never supposed to admit that to anyone, so let’s just keep that a secret. I’ll keep eating and no one will be the wiser.

 

3 thoughts on “A Week of Breakfast

  1. Those Bolthouse farm drinks are AWESOME tasting but I feel sort of guilty about the high amount of sugar in them. 😦

  2. Oh yeah, such a badass! How much protein does the ezekiel bread have? I’ve always wanted to try it, but have tried too many disappointing protein products…

    • I double checked the label – it’s 4 g of protein per slice for the bread (80 cals). That’s not great but I think it’s better than refined bread, although I’m not even sure of that because it’s been so long since I bought bread, and it isn’t marketed specifically as a “high protein product.”

      The same person also recommended Silver Hills, which is another brand of sprouted grain bread. I saw it at the grocery store but haven’t bought it yet, and it’s 2 slices with 110 cals and 7 g/protein which is great for bread, so I’m excited to try it!

Leave a Reply

