GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

March 5th: Training Log

Leave a comment

After last night’s shaky squats, I was looking forward to doing what I do best: deadlifting.

I’m starting a new cycle of Coan/Phillipi. A couple of people have asked whether this is the type of program that can be run repeatedly. The answer is: I have no idea. I recognize that there are programs like Smolov Jr. that give diminishing returns. But I am also the idiot who spent about 3 months planning to run Starting Strength forever and obviously that plan didn’t work out so well for me.

The advantage of C/P is that it starts out low. I worked up to a heavy double with my partner in deadlifting, Gary. Even though the heaviest set was only 305, it still felt incredibly slow. I think I’m at a natural point in my training where I’ve peaked on all of my lifts, and now I’m in a bit of a valley, feeling beat up and weak and just trying to get to that point where I’m cruising along for a few weeks.

Anyway, as much as I believe in sticking to a program, I am making one small modification over the next 8 weeks. I’ve added bands on my speed pulls, since locking out seems to be my weak point quite consistently. I’d never done these before and I never want to do them again.

I think I made a mistake by trying to double up on bands on the prescribed weight. The speed pulls left me feeling totally gassed and gave me couple of mega-callouses. Even as I type this, my poor hands are slathered in polysporin and radiating pain. My performance on the circuit suffered as a result, but I got through it and lived to deadlift another day.

Garlic and Lime Beef with Mashed Cauliflower and Green Beans

Garlic and Lime Beef with Mashed Cauliflower and Green Beans

Paleo Points

Before scoring myself, and the interest of full disclosure, I feel that I must confess that I did technically eat dairy today. It was Kefir.  Since one of my primary motivations in undertaking this challenge is to improve my digestive functioning, I am trying to consume at least half a cup of a probiotics every day to re-inoculate some of the bacteria in my gut. There is an argument to be made to incorporate Kefir into a Paleo diet, logical inconsistencies aside. So with the blessing of the Paleo Gods, I’m not going to count Kefir as a slip-up today or any other day. Please don’t denounce me as the charlatan I am.

Tuesday, March 5th (Day 3): 10

Total Points: 30

Leave a Reply

