GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Training log: March 8th

Leave a comment

As I was making my way to the gym this evening, I was thinking about this whole idea that sitting is the smoking of my generation. I spent 6 hours running around the lab today, and by the time I got home to eat dinner I wasn’t even sure that I’d make it to the gym. Death seemed like quite a nice option, actually.

I’d like to think that I am fit enough to meet the demands of my daily life, but one day on my feet and I just feel beat! I mean, I tell people that I study rocks, which does occasionally involve tromping around in the great outdoors. But most days I just sit on my butt, writing very important e-mails to very important people – and then I use all the energy that I’ve built up to crush it at the gym. Obviously, today was not one of those days.

I was supposed to squat 275×3, something I’ve done before. I wasn’t sure it was going to happen and when it did, it wasn’t pretty.

I had to cut off the end of my video. You see, Gary had to come to my rescue after the bar had rolled too far down my back for me to rerack the bar, and he declined to be featured on my blog.

I feel like I’ve hit a bit of a wall with my squat. The  Texas method was working really well for me and now I just feel like I bang out the ugliest reps ever on my Intensity Day without making progress on the movement pattern that is my squat.

I’ve been entertaining the idea of running Smolov for my squat, just to get 300 solidly under my belt. Alternatively, I’ve been considering doing an experiment and running Smolov for my front squat to see what kind of carry over I would get in both my squat and deadlift. Except that I also feel like I’m going through a period of training ADHD, and I’m not sure I want to hop on the bandwagon to another program just yet.

I did do some benching today and nearly gassed myself to death in the process. No video because apparently my local commercial gym gets really busy at 9 pm on a Friday night. I managed to get the video of my squat because eating Paleo seems to have been a little too effective in curing my chronic constipation and if I was going to crap myself mid-squat, I damn well wanted it on camera.

Herbed pork tenderloin with broccoli and butternut squash

Herbed pork tenderloin with broccoli and butternut squash

Paleo Points

I managed to stop PMSing for 5 minutes today. That was long enough to get my head on straight and evaluate my diet. I have not been eating enough, which would explain why I feel the need to gorge myself in the middle of the afternoon. I’m going to continue tracking calories on a 1970/1530 split, cut down on the amount of fruit I’m consuming and see what happens over the next few days.  I know I’ll feel disappointed with myself I get to my next meet and haven’t moved down a weight class, and I said I was going to do this challenge for a month. I can do it.

Points for today (Day 6): 10

Total points: 49

Leave a Reply

