GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Training Log: April 8

3 Comments

Some thoughts:

– No training log last Friday even though I lifted, mostly because I had a lifting date with some friends and then by the time I got home I was just too wiped to blog about it. But it was good. I like being social. Sometimes.

-I’m liking what I’ve done on my first week of Sheiko. I feel like there is a huge paradox in the program: each rep and set feels easy, but at the end of the day I just want to come home and pass out. It is exhausting, but it’s a productive exhaustion that I’ve been missing. I am really enthusiastic about running the full 16 weeks right now and seeing what happens. I’m even considering dropping my C/P modification, though I can’t bring myself to pull the trigger just yet. C/P is just so magical!

-My lats are always DOMSing lately.

-I am fucking starving. All of the time. And I am kind of pissed off with myself, because I had my diet under control for a couple of months after Christmas and now I seem to have reversed all of my progress by falling apart. Given that I currently weigh about as much as a baby elephant, I might not make it down to 63 kg for my July meet. So I’ve been beating myself up for failing to starve myself. Why don’t I have more willpower? Then I realized that maybe my body was trying to tell me something. Like maybe I need to eat more than 1350 cal, which is not unreasonable. So I’m going to try eating 1800/1500 for the next couple of weeks and see what happens. More than making weight, I need to figure out how to maintain some stable eating patterns in the long term.

– Suspecting that my exhaustion has been at least partially due to anemia, I took my iron supplement and then I remembered why I stopped taking them in the first place as I was throwing up my breakfast on Sunday morning. Not sure what to do about that.

-One potential solution would be to eat more red meat:

Spaghetti Squash with Bolognese Sauce

-I ran 10K for the first time ever yesterday! Race weekend in May is looking more manageable, and at least I know that if I’m eating more, I’m making those calories count. My time was 72:59 which is not exactly fast, but the part of me that is forever a powerlifter, and the very large part of me that used to weigh 252lbs is pretty pleased.

-I smashed the living daylights out of my iPhone while I was at the gym on Friday. Since I have exactly $4.75 in my bank account, I can’t afford to get it fixed right now. No training videos for a while unfortunately, and I had to write out my Sheiko routine in my notebook like some sort of uncivilized cavewoman.

-Since there are no videos of me lifting, please accept this picture of my friend’s cat Chloe with her new lever belt as a peace offering:

Someone should start a tumblr of cats using lifting gear. I’d be all over that shit.

3 thoughts on “Training Log: April 8

  1. congrats on your 10k. Sounds like you are my weight loss twin! You have that race in the bag, no worries. I used to do a fair amount of mid/longish distance running (half marathons) and I was always so pissed at myself for being a slow poke because even though I’m pretty healthy now I’m still sure as hell not skinny and gazelle-like. But hey, a few years ago I couldn’t even run one minute solid, so there’s that. What race/distance are you doing in May?

Leave a comment