GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Training Log: April 12th

Leave a comment

Not much to say today. I went to the gym after working this morning. Arrived during the lunch hour rush, which was totally overwhelming, and both of the racks were in use. I asked the gentlemen using the racks how much longer they’d be and one of them said, “I still have 5 more sets.” I walked on the treadmill while watching him perform rows.

I’ve had a few members comment lately that they know I like to use the rack when I’m there. I do. But I also have no problem sharing the platform with other people or letting someone’s there use it for appropriate exercises. I pay the same gym membership fee as everyone else… actually, I pay a discounted rate since I’m a student. But it really grates on me when people use the rack to do things that could (and should) be done elsewhere. Assholes.

Anyway, once I did get started my workout was pretty fast today.

Sheiko Week 2, Day 3

I had looked at this on paper and thought “Pshaw! This is going to be so easy!” Then I laughed at myself as I was struggling to squat 210x4x4. And based on how hard this was, I’m a little bit concerned my squat has regressed.

To prevent myself from freaking out, I reminded myself that I’m focusing on doing more sets unbelted and going ATG on every rep. I’m trying to build up my strength in the hole and trust that the program will get me where I need to be, as it has for so many others.

Meanwhile, I have all the same stuff to say about Sheiko: Best/worst program. DOMS. Losing weight despite eating more calories. Napping lots. And falling asleep at 7:30 on a Thursday night while watching old episodes of Daria. You know. The usual.

Leave a Reply

