GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Training Log: April 15th

Leave a comment

As I passed through the locker room to get changed this evening, there was a woman who easily weighed 300lbs walking on the treadmill while watching footage of the Boston Marathon tragedy. I couldn’t help but think there is a certain commentary on society in that whole scenario. It’s like Don Delilo’s White Noise but it takes place in the gym and it’s real life. Which would be depressing if I could bring myself to think about it, but my brain is fried from starting my third week of Sheiko and that’s probably for the better.

Inline image 1

Squats. I was scared going into this workout because I’ve felt like my squat has been regressing. But I know for fact that there were some beautiful reps on my sets of 250 – tight, deep, fast and solid. I’ve got my phone fixed so there should be training footage beginning again tomorrow. I just couldn’t set up my camera without looking like a creep tonight.

Anyway, I felt great coming off that first round of squats. But then the squats after the squats killed me. I know a few of the 235 reps turned into good mornings, which is unfortunate because I’d been so happy about being able to get my hips under the bar on my earlier sets. Ah, well. At least I got through and it wasn’t even the worse part of my workout like I thought’d be.

Bench. I was worried about these, too. Simply because there were so many sets. But my bench felt great this evening and I’m beginning to notice some improvements as a result of benching 3x week. Everything was paused and I still got through fairly easily, even without wrist wraps on the majority of my sets. I feel like I could open with 115 at a competition right now and not even break a sweat. I know I didn’t feel that way before Christmas.

Push-ups. Dude. These are hard. I struggle with push-ups. I managed to get 5×10 but now my arms feel like jelly and I’m trembling enough that typing is difficult. I keep telling myself that it’s worth it because for the first time ever, I’m starting to notice that my triceps are growing, which is basically a miracle. MY TRICEPS ARE GROWING.

Good mornings. I’ve been doing a lot of good mornings and some lunges with this current programming and I’m starting to notice that they’re making my butt look better. I’ve always felt like squats have failed to deliver the bubble butt that I was promised, but I feel like these are finally giving me some lift. The only problem is that I feel totally self-conscious sticking my butt up into the air and I’ve got a few guys sneaking glances.

Weight-wise… I don’t want to talk about it. I ate a lot of Indian food this weekend and ice cream. My skin is all broken out from the dairy and I feel gross. I converted my scale to kilos this morning, since I’m technically aiming to compete at 63kg and not 138lbs. I’m hoping that’s the wake-up call I need. I feel shitty for struggling with my weight so much these past few months, but I still can’t seem to get it together.

Leave a Reply

