GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Training Log: April 30th

Leave a comment

I am struggling: with motivation, with my diet, with my lifts. In a nutshell: I’m struggling with life.

Where to begin?

I was supposed to start Sheiko 30 yesterday evening. I had been feeling a bit intimidated because I had added 12.5lbs to my squat and deadlift maxes, and 6.25lbs to my bench – which I’d already entered at 10% higher than it actually is. but I was coming off a small high because I finally PRed my OHP at 100lbs. I hadn’t been able to hit anything above 90 since last November. So it’s about freakin’ time!

But then I had lower back pain and stiffness all afternoon. By the time I got off the bus after work, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to walk the three blocks to my apartment. I just sat down and waited until I thought I could make it. Then I basically crawled on to my couch and curled up in the foetal position. I’ve decided that since I didn’t have a PMS induced mental-breakdown this month, my body has decided to express its fury elsewhere, namely my lower back.

I slept it off and managed to get in this morning. I still feel kind of icky, but I know I needed to get into the rack. Unfortunately, I am not a morning person. Usually my mornings consist of scrambling around like a madwoman, trying to find any clothes that match and are acceptable for my office. Then I drink a cup of coffee on the bus and another one when I arrive at my desk. Somewhere after the third cup of coffee, reading my e-mails and the news, I start to resemble a functional human being.

Today, I wanted to get in and out of the gym before the lunch rush. So I only drank a single cup of coffee beforehand, and then I spent the first half of my workout trying to remember what lifting feels like because every part of my body felt like it was still asleep.

Sheiko 30 w1d1

Here’s proof that Sheiko is a miraculous program: I feel good about benching. Who am I? For reference, 121 was a new max for me at my last meet. I did 120x3x5 today despite feeling generally blah. Seeing progress like that is a huge a relief. I do need to work on making sure my heels are fully down, though. It looks like they’re up a bit in the video. I feel like I’m driving through my heels, so hopefully that’s just a mobility issue.

Unfortunately, this workout was basically the equivalent of two full days of Starting Strength, so I also had to squat and those were a disaster. My hip is sore and I just couldn’t seem to figure out a stance that would alleviate the pain. I was coming down so unevenly – I don’t think my right side was doing any of the work and it was just depressing.

I skipped the good mornings today, out of consideration for my back. What I really need is some mobility work. Hopefully it’s nice out tomorrow and I can go to Yoga on the Hill at lunch. Today I think I’m going to hit up Mucho Burrito and tackle some laundry. I also want to find a backpack that I can use to run to work. Because I have a job!!

That’s the best news I’ve had in a while and it means I can continue paying for my lifting habit, whether I’m feeling motivated or not. So I’m going to try and use the time to do laundry, relax and drink some more coffee.

Leave a Reply

