GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

May 25th: Ottawa Race Weekend

1 Comment

It’s race weekend in Ottawa and I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking, but many months ago, I signed up to run 10K.

Then I kind of half-heartedly trained for the race, but not really. And last week, I tried to sell my bib on kijiji because I didn’t really want to run it. But I got stood up and decided to just try running the damn thing. I had no idea what was going to happen, but I’d paid $40 for a t-shirt that I didn’t feel I could wear to the gym without actually crossing the finish line.

1:12:08.

I think I am what Gary would call “turtle jacked”: short and bulky. And slow. And I’m surprised at how disappointed I am with that time. It’s on part with the only other 10K I’ve run in training, but I was disappointed at how much walking I had to do to get to the finish line. I keep trying to remind myself that the very large part of me that used to weigh +250lbs could not have finished at all, but I still feel kind of miffed.

I don’t think I’ll do the 10K again next year. For one thing, I couldn’t eat any of the post-race snacks because they were yogurt and chocolate milk. Thank you, dairy industry. But the race was also at 6:30, so I feel like I wasted most of the day lounging around in preparation.

The thing is, you know how in a bildungsroman there is often a sense of restlessness? Well, that’s me right now. I need to find myself. I have no idea what I’m doing with my life or where I want to be and I’m just oscillating between feeling restless and depressed. I’m trying to stay active, but my lifts are in the crapper and running seems to be more effectively dealing with all of my pent-up, anxious energy. This statement might be straight-up blasphemy, but I’ve actually been looking forward to running.

Even if 10K is a little long for me, I think I’m going to work on improving my 5K time. I’m considering doing the Army Run again in September, or the Run or Dye race if I can make friends who will do it with me. But that seems like a very tall order, and I take my time in doing just about everything.

IMG_0655[1]

Food Diary

Breakfast: Turkey hash with a fried egg, Large coffee

Lunch: Spaghetti Squash Bolognese, 1 cup of applesauce

PM Snack: 2 apple streusel egg muffins, Banana uber Larabar

Pre-Race: Protein shake, Larabar Cashew

Post Race: Salted almonds

Calories Consumed: 2205

Calories Burned: 2750

One thought on “May 25th: Ottawa Race Weekend

  1. I was never a good distance runner and I always wanted to be, especially when my Gary started running 4 or so years ago (and getting really good — he’s running a 50K today in Portland). Part of the reason I started lifting was to improve my strength so I could run without getting injured like my Gary — I went to a trainer and everything (I can’t escape, can I?). I used to feel restless. Why can’t I do things other people seem to do? Why do my tibia get stress fractured and other people’s don’t when we do the same shit? For some reason lifting gave me that ease despite being an idiot half the time. Anyways, xoxo.

Leave a Reply

