GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

May 29: Squats and Bench

Leave a comment

I didn’t do a food diary, yesterday. It was a bad day. I ate cheese. Then I ate ice cream. At 3 am, when I was curled up in a ball on the bathroom floor, sweating and shaking and feeling achey, I reminded myself that I’ve been avoiding dairy because I suspect I am lactose intolerant. That ice cream was so not worth it.

But the good news is that even if I fell into a vat of Ben & Jerry’s, the extra calories gave me a ton of energy for the gym today. I was overdue for a decent lifting session and I finally got it.

I started out by squatting 280 for three singles.

 

I am actually pretty pleased with these: the speed is good and I hit depth, which is a big deal because the last time I attempted this weight was when I was still running Texas Method and I didn’t break parallel. That said, it still felt heavy – especially the walkout. And I’m in that awkward phase between notches in my belt, so bracing my core was difficult today.

Then I did bench work, again working up to heavy singles at 125. This was undoubtedly my max for the day and I know I’ve lost some of the progress I was making with all of the volume on Sheiko. I have my fingers crossed that this rebounds quickly, but since I struggle with benching in general, I doubt that’ll happen.

Part of the reason I’m feeling good about this workout is because I actually stuck around and got some accessory work done. I did 225x4x6 on squat, because I know I need to do more than just work up to heavy singles. Then I did 5×10 “low rows” supersetted with leg curls.

Now I just need to figure out how to have that kind of workout more consistently and without stuffing my face beforehand.

Chinese 5-spice lettuce turkey wraps

Food Diary

Breakfast:

  • Daryl’s bar
  • Protein shake
  • Large banana
  • Coffee

AM Snack: Green apple

Lunch: Citrus & Herb roasted chicken, Green Beans, Applesauce

PM Snack: Almonds

Dinner: Chinese 5-spice lettuce turkey wraps

 

Calories consumed: 1886

Calories burned: 2700

 

Leave a Reply

