GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

June 4: 305lb Squat PR

6 Comments

I am sore today. Possible causes include:

  • Roller Derby (Note: I am using that term going forward to loosely describe whatever it is that I am attempting to do on skates)
  • Impromptu Monday Night Kiki
  • Not going to the gym for 5 days

I suspect it’s the “roller derby” that’s causing the DOMS, because it’s my right quad that is particularly sore. When I was practising falling, I found that I favoured landing on my right side, which is probably an instinct I should quash since that’s the side with the wonky hip. Now I’m wondering if continuing with roller derby will even me out or just screw me up more. Only time will tell.

In the meantime, I was supposed to go Fast & Furious 6 tonight, but since I cannot fathom being social for two consecutive evenings, I went and lifted instead. And inspite of the quad and lower back DOMS, my squat was feeling really good and I finally, finally broke the 300lb squat milestone.

That’s a 305lb squat, which is a 10lb PR for me. And unlike my last squat PR, I didn’t have issues hitting depth. Clearly derby taught me superior squat form. Just kidding. In all seriousness, though: there’s something to be said for the motivation of having a 295lb squat because it’s so close and yet so far from 300. And I’m not the type of person who can claim a 300lb squat without having done it.

Anyway, I really needed that because it feels like it’s been months since any of my lifts have progressed. I did attempt 315 afterwards, but got pinned out of the hole. I don’t even care. I will get there and I’ve made progress. In the meantime, I did some “powerbuilding” squats (195x3x10), some 1 legged RDLs and a bit of overhead pressing. Kind of a short workout but I feel so relieved and happy, which I haven’t felt in a while. Hopefully I can carry this feeling with me as I head into a bench and DL session tomorrow.

Food Diary

 I’ve been feeling really fat and then I just felt crappy for relying on protein shakes today (one running out the door this morning and another after missing the opportunity to eat lunch because of a meeting). To redeem myself, I made Hot & Sweet Ginger-Garlic Chicken with butternut squash. It was delicious, of course. I have to say that I’ve had a couple of weird moments lately: I’ll go to make a recipe and I’ll have all of the ingredients in my cupboard. That’s such a strange feeling! And even more foreign are all of the feelings of excitement that I have for The 21-Day Sugar Detox Recipe book to come out! Who am I and why is December so far away!?

6 thoughts on “June 4: 305lb Squat PR

  1. Actually, this recipe will be in The 21-Day Sugar Detox book that’s out in September — the cookbook that’ll be out in December will have lots of other new recipes though! 🙂

  2. Hi! I’ve been following your blog for a while, would love to know what program(s) you recommend to someone who’d like to be as strong as you! You’re inspiring 😳

    • Wow! Thanks for the kind words. I have not really done anything special in terms of training. I really credit a lot of my success to consistent training more than anything else (which is part of why it’s a big deal to me that my training has been so inconsistent lately). I’ve also paid for some time with reputable lifters in my area – I did some research and went to see them, as opposed to just the personal trainers at my gym who would not have been able to give me what I needed. One of the first coaches I saw really helped me establish a good foundation and laid the groundwork for me to train smart.

      In terms of actual programming, I’ve been lifting for about 15 months. I did New Rules of Lifting for Women when I knew nothing about lifting, and followed along for about 5 months. Then, I did Starting Strength with a couple of resets for 4-5 months. It’s a very boring program, but it was really necessary for me to build my base of strength, which was a priority. When I stalled on SS, I switched to the 70sBig Texas Method and followed that for almost 8 months and that really helped my squat. I’ve also dabbled in Coan/Phillipi for my deadlift and Sheiko, which just didn’t work for my schedule anymore. I would recommend any of these programs depending on where you are in your training and what you’re looking for.

      • 19 months? That’s even more impressive! I started 5×5 and then, as you said, got bored & kept increasing weight even though I wasn’t squatting to depth. My brother is a powerlifter so you can imagine how appalled he was at my form. I didn’t go back to 5×5, I jumped back to training for conditioning rather than strength. That’s what happens, I hit a hard point, and rather than staying at that weight and going lower or finishing it, I hop onto something else! Or.. I feel like I’m getting bigger and losing leanness and jump ship. Currently I’m doing a program called MaxOT for 12 weeks and I’m about 4 weeks in. But I will definitely check out the others you’ve mentioned and look into those. Thanks for replying! And again, your numbers are wicked. One day… 😉

  3. FUCK YES WOMAN!!!!! CONGRATS! As someone who has been trapped at a 245# squat and a 295# deadlift for about 6 months I feel your fucking pain on the “so close yet so far” front. I am so happy for you and I am looking forward to following your happiness soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

