GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

June 10: Squats

Leave a comment

I lifted on a Monday. As planned. For once. Wow. What is this feeling?

I actually decided to start the GZCL method from TheSquatRack. I might run C/P for deadlift again but I’m going to give this a try for now and just keep it simple: plug my numbers and go and stop messing around. In the early stages, it’s only three days a week. By the time it bumps up to 4, hopefully I will feel more focused on lifting, and in the meantime it seems like it had enough heavy reps and some volume to keep me interested for a while without killing me. So that happened today.

I started out the first day by squatting, and this was a bad idea. I may not have been able to commiserate with all of the girls at derby last night who said they couldn’t walk for 5 days after our first skate lesson, but I sure noticed that my quads felt weak during squats and lunges. Seriously, lunges were so hard tonight! I got so sweaty and I all wobbly and pathetic. I might need to bench on Mondays. But at least I did a full lifting session for the first time in what feels like weeks. I even forced myself to do a warm-up.  Baby steps towards success, but I’ll take ’em.

Lunch: Maple & Mustard Glazed Chicken with Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus

Lunch: Maple & Mustard Glazed Chicken with Prosciutto-Wrapped Asparagus

Food Diary

In fact, I am so on track today that that I’ve managed to go 24 hours without binge-eating, which seems like a world record right at the moment.

Unfortunately, I’ve eaten like 65% of my calories from fat today. Hell, even the greens I’ve eaten today have been slathered in fat – kale cooked with bacon for breakfast and asparagus with olive oil wrapped in prosciutto for lunch (after a friend brought them to a potluck). It’s been good food, don’t get me wrong. But man, my face is greasier than a slice of pizza. I feel like I’m in high school again.

Leave a Reply

