GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

June 24: Benchin’

Leave a comment

Can I just take a minute to be an old lady and talk about this heat? Crikey! My top floor apartment is sweltering. I thought that last night was bad because I was wearing all of my roller derby gear at the rink, but I had no idea what I was in for tonight.

I fell asleep after work, but made myself go lift when I woke up, mostly because the gym has air conditioning and my apartment does not. Summer could be good for my gains after all.

I benched and pressed tonight. I was supposed to do 110x3x3. Went for a rep-out on the last set and got 6 fairly easily. Not my best but also not as tragic as I was expecting given how much I’ve been slacking.

I did DB rows, curls and tricep push downs as my accessory work. Bro day, which I’m liking after derby day.

This was also my first workout since Gary left. I was thinking that I might check out some other gyms in the neighbourhood after the long weekend. I’ve been at the Y for nearly 2 years and I think it’s just time for a change in scenery. I am also debating lifting in the mornings, since I keep falling asleep after work no matter what I do.

Although, after basically taking a month off from the gym, I arrived at the gym tonight to see a bunch of people I didn’t recognize. One was guy was squatting respectably and then wanted to press. I agreed to switch racks with him, but then he felt the need to go out of his way to rack the 75lbs for me, because I look like I can’t manage on my own.

Leave a Reply

