GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

The Good, the Bad and the Spudly

Leave a comment

A cute video that appealed to the food waste warrior in me. Found via Wasted Food.

As part of today’s battle against waste, I took to heart some advice from Jamie Oliver: put fruit that’s about to spoil in a bag and throw it in the freezer for a smoothie. Since I’m making super shakes on a regular basis, it seemed like a smart idea to throw the leftover carton of fresh cranberries in my fridge into my freezer. But first, half the carton of berries found their way into tonight’s chicken and squash bake.

Inspired by this recipe at The Kitchn, I fried some onions, celery and ground chicken with a couple of handfuls of fresh cranberries and seasoned the mix with a generous dollop of dijon, mustard powder and dried sage. Meanwhile, I baked a red kiri squash and mixed the puree in with the meat mixture. I baked it all to give it a nice crispy top, and the end result one of the most satisfying and delicious meals I’ve had in a very long time.

It’s times like these I wish I had someone else to cook for, because that was a meal worth sharing – delicious comfort food that just tastes and smells and feels like fall. I guess the upside is that despite going back for seconds, there’s still plenty of leftovers for me to enjor over breakfast tomorrow.

Food Diary

Breakfast –

  • Apple
  • Whey Isolate
  • Kale
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Almond milk
  • Mint leaves
  • Ice

First lunch –

  • Parsnip hash fried in butter with onions
  • 2 sunny-side up eggs
  • Sauerkraut

Second lunch

  • Fireside stew
  • Garden salad with olive oil and apple cider vinegar

Dinner – 

  • Tablespoon of almond cashew butter
  • Casserole of red kiri squash stuffed, ground chicken, celery, onions, cranberries, mustard and sage

Workout: 8 minutes of intervals (30s/30s) on the erg

Days since last meltdown: 3

Leave a Reply

