GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

My Fall Harvest Safety Belt

Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, I signed up for a weekly delivery of organic produce via Ottawa Organics. While I enjoy receiving the Good Food Box, it only arrives once a month and it quickly disappears! I was looking for something delivered more frequently, and while I’d looked at CSAs in the spring, none of them had convenient pick-up spots for me. I signed up for this particular produce service after a friend had tried it out, and even though it’s not all local, it is entirely organic and runs year-round. One of the best “features” of the box is that unlike the Good Food Box, I was able to tell Ottawa Organics that I didn’t want potatoes, so when potatoes are supposed to be in the box, I get something else that I’ll actually end up using. I know I sound like a broken record, but I love noticing all of the things I can do to reduce waste.

Today was my weekly delivery. I knew it was coming. But… yesterday, was also my monthly Good Food Box delivery. As I noted in my blog post yesterday, a month ago when I placed my order, I decided to be adventurous and order a family-sized box. I have been going through a lot of produce, since I eat 4 meals every day and all of them incorporate at least one serving of fruit or veggies. And it’s a good thing I’m eating my veggies, because I’ve now got a medium organics box and a large Good Food Box worth of produce stuffed into every nook and cranny of my kitchen. My crisper drawer won’t close and my fruit bowl is overflowing on to the counter!

IMG_0835[1]

Seriously. Let’s look at the sheer amount of produce I’ve amassed over the past 24 hours:

  • 10 lbs of white potatoes
  • 2 lbs of carrots
  • 2 lbs of onions
  • 2 green cabbages
  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 1 cauliflower
  • 2 heads of lettuce
  • Bok Choy
  • 1 bunch of leeks
  • 2 boxes of mushrooms
  • 2 beetroots
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 1 pie pumpkin
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • 3 red pears
  • 3 bartlett pears
  • 6 oranges
  • 2 kiwis
  • 6 apples
  • 1 lemon

In the interest of full disclosure, I should also confess that last night at the World Food Day event, I brought home our center piece, which just so happened to be another pumpkin. But I just couldn’t stop myself! I can’t seem to get enough pumpkin right now. It’s just such a satisfying vegetable! And I certainly had no regrets as I was sipping my pumpkin smoothie this morning.

Anyway, that’s a lot of produce. Not to be hyperbolic, but I’ve basically got entire produce section of the grocery store of my kitchen. And I while a part of me feels a bit like a kid on Christmas morning, another part of me is a bit worried. I mean, $55 worth of produce for one individual might be excessive… and counter to my goal of being a Food Waste Warrior. But most of all, I just feel relieved.

Remember when I said that I needed Precision Nutrition to give me a map so I could drive myself to my destination because I couldn’t seem to get my body fat down on my own? Well, even PN liked the analogy of being a driver on the Lean Eating course . They refer to a strategy of planning ahead as having a safety belt: if I have produce in my kitchen, I will eat it. I’ve certainly found that rule to be true: when I go to the grocery store, I feel overwhelmed by the selection and prices of produce. I tend to buy too little and very little variety, and then by the end of the week, I have no veggies to add to my meals! But when I get the produce delivered, I am forced to use things I wouldn’t otherwise buy, and I do find ways of sneaking everything into one meal or another. I feel relieved that right now  because I’m wearing my seat belt; screwing up my Lean Habits seems impossible with this many veggies all around me.

But how do I make sure that none of this food will get wasted?

As I mentioned yesterday, I started by giving away some of the food: a cabbage, some carrots and half of the potatoes. I may not have anyone to cook for on a regular basis, but I can still partake in the experience of sharing food!

Some of the fruit can go in my freezer before it spoils, and I’ll use it in a smoothie sooner or later. I’ll probably freeze some pumpkin puree and broccoli soup for later, too.

In the mean time, the stuff that doesn’t get frozen needs to be eaten fast and I’m kind of excited by the prospect. I think I’m becoming an adult because I’ve realized that vegetables add interest to a meal. Sure, I enjoy eating grains and protein, but when compared with fruit and veg, they’re all kind of boring. Vegetables add so much colour, flavour and variety to my diet! With this many vegetables in my pantry, I can make all sorts of delicious meals and since I’m unemployed, I’ve already scoped out some potential candidates for interesting meals on The Food Network.

I’ve got my safety belt buckled. As I’m heading into the weekend, when I have to do my weigh-in and when I usually have my weekly meltdown, I’m hoping that a heaping dose of fresh produce is exactly what the doctor ordered to keep me on track and headed in the right direction.

IMG_0836[1]

Tonight’s dinner:
Spicy almond ginger stir fry with an abundance of veggies

Food Diary

Breakfast – 

  • Leftovers: Ground chicken, squash and cranberry bake
  • 1/2 spoonful of almond cashew butter
  • Baby carrots

First Lunch – Smoothie

  • Apple
  • Pumpkin puree
  • Cinnamon
  • Whey
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Nutmeg
  • Water
  • Ice

Second Lunch –

  • 3 eggs
  • Onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Green Pepper
  • 2 kiwis

First Dinner – Stir fry

  • Shrimp
  • Onion
  • Carrot
  • Water chestnuts
  • Bok choy
  • Broccoli
  • Red pepper
  • Brown & Wild Rice Blend
  • Sauce with almond cashew butter, almond coconut milk, ginger, garlic, sriracha, lime juice and coconut aminos

Second Dinner –

  • Leftover stir fry
  • 2 Dark Chocolate Maca Buttercups

Active Recovery: Stationary bike for an hour-long episode of Chopped (15 mi)

Days since last meltdown: 5

Leave a Reply

