GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 3

Leave a comment

Big news for the day: I squatted 225x5x3! Woo! It was hard! My form was questionable! But I got through it. And from a mental perspective, I really needed that. Since my weight is “up” and I am feeling so weak, I know I would have felt discouraged if I came back after 5 months and couldn’t even squat 2 plates. Now that I’ve gone ahead and done it, I feel like I should repeat it twice more to try and get comfortable and then see if I can advance next week.

Otherwise my workout today was kind of baloney. And I mean by that I mean that I did conditioning work as my accessory lifts. Sets of 20 on reverse lunges, 1-arm pulldowns and fast knees on the stability ball. I was a sweaty mess after a couple of rounds of that. But this is basically the approach I’ve compromised on: do my starting strength lifts and then do 1 of my PNLE circuits.

Finally, I woke up this morning and thought, “Man, my stomach looks a lot less bloated.” And then my weight was down and my jeans felt more comfortable than they have in a while. I am not sure if it’s just because I’m a woman, but I’m utterly convinced that I look better even after a week or 10 days of consistent eating and working out. I should probably keep doing these things.

Food Journal

12:20 – Midnight snack –

  • 3/4 granny Smith Apple
  • 1 Carrot Pumpkin Spice Muffin

Laid in bed reading for a couple of hours and couldn’t fall asleep and then I got hungry, which wasn’t helping. Meal did not include protein, so not PNLE compliant.

10:25 – Breakfast –

  • 1 fist-sized serving of cottage cheese
  • aprx 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 2 Carrot Pumpkin Spice Muffins
  • Black Coffee
  • 2 probiotic capsules
  • 1 tbsp fish oil

2:45 – Lunch – Leftovers

  • 1 cupped handful acorn squash
  • 1 fist-sized serving of lean ground beef fried with fresh tomatoes and kale
  • 3/4 cup Primevera
  • Aprx. 2 tsp nutritional yeast

7:38 – Supper –

  • 1 cupped handful Bubbie’s Sauerkrauet
  • 2 pieces of bacon
  • 4 mushrooms, sliced (aprx. 1 fist sized serving)
  • 1 egg over easy
  • Pumpkin Pancake (1/4 cup of batter = 1 egg, 1/2 tbsp coconut flour, 1/8 cup pumpkin puree, 1/2 tsp coconut oil)

Ate this a bit late… wasn’t hungry after my workout, and then all of a sudden I was so hungry that I didn’t feel like I even had the patience to cook. I served myself 2 pancakes, but this was a giant meal and I found that I was satisfied with 1.

Leave a Reply

