GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 7

Leave a comment

Two things today:

1) Since it’s 12 days until Christmas, I am doing a task that my coach assigned and I’m going to keep track of it here. The assignment is to write down one positive thing that I did today and every day until Christmas. On Christmas Day I’m supposed to read over my affirmations. This seems like something I need given how I feel about my body right now. So on the first day of Christmas, Santa gave to me (1): My first day of 5/3/1 BBB. I am learning the importance of recovery and chose a program that will allow me to make steady progress towards my goals without running myself into the ground.

2) Today also marks the completion of my first week of this journalling project. I’ll do a more in-depth analysis of my logs next week, but one comment is that I’ve been eating a lot of fat, which is not necessarily something to worry about because they are “good fats”, but I might try eating less fat and eating more often. I’m also worried that this was not representative of a typical week for me. I didn’t have a junk food bender at all, I didn’t eat grains and I had no social engagements. I cooked a lot. If I could continue doing this, I’d probably be lean in no time. In fact, I’ve been keeping track of my meals and whether they are lean eating compliant. I ended up with an average of 90% compliance.

LE Week 1

I’m actually pretty pleased with that result. I was aiming for at least 80% and according to my PNLE lesson, their finalists reported an average of 91% in their journals, so that reaffirms that I’m on track. I think this system was also good mentally. I admit that if I find myself eating junk food for lunch, then often I just continue eating junk food into the evening, whereas this this approach makes every meal count. This approach might be called moderation but I’m not entirely sure, since it’s such a foreign concept to me. Anyway, I think my goal is to aim for an even higher compliance next week, which should be interesting because the week will end when I’m back home for the holidays.

Food Diary

7:50 – Breakfast –

  • 1 pumpkin pancake made w/coconut flour
  • 1 thumb of almond butter
  • 1 cupped handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 2 probiotic caps

I served myself 2 mustard chicken thighs but felt full before touching them… which is weird because I only got out of bed when I couldn’t stand being hungry any longer.

12:00 – Lunch

  • 2 mustard chicken thighs
  • 3 thumbs of Cauliflower “hummus”
  • 1 cupped handful of cucumber
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 granny smith apple

4:20 – Pre-workout – Super shake

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 scoop of whey
  • 1/8 cup cocoa powder
  • splash of vanilla
  • 1 cupped handful of baby kale
  • aprx. 1/2 cup almond milk

8:35 – Supper

  • 1 bison sausage
  • 1/4 savoy cabbage, steamed
  • 1/2 cup primevera
Leave a Reply

