GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 8

1 Comment

It’s nearly 2014 and I finally got around to trying Crossfit this morning. The box near my house has “Bring a friend” partner workouts on Saturday mornings and I was lucky enough to be a friend. (A huge thank you to Tali because I really did want to check it out.)

I was not totally sure what to expect, mostly because Crossfit has a lot of reputation and I am skeptical of what I read on the internet. Plus, I didn’t figure they just let anyone walk in and snatch 95lbs incorrectly and for free. So that was mildly reassuring. Slightly less reassuring was the coach’s description of the class (are they called coaches in Crossfit? I’m sorry if I still don’t know my Crossfit lingo). Basically, the class was a lot of bodyweight stuff and conditioning, which is not totally my jam, but it makes sense because the class was very full and included a few other people who were just trying it out. And not that I will ever feel like I’m in good condition, but it was supposed to be my normal conditioning day at the gym, so this worked out well.

The workout itself was 4 rounds of rowing, burpees, bodyweight squats and then step ups*. Each exercise was performed for two intervals of 20 seconds, followed by 10 seconds rest, with 1 minute rest between exercises which allowed me to alternate with my friend. That’s a 32 minute workout, but I thought about it afterwards and there was only 10 minutes and 40 seconds of actual work in the workout… performed in 30 minutes. It was not terrible.

I think what I found the weirdest is that all of those moves are very basic. It was a lot like Bikini Bootcamp or the all-levels class that’s offered at the YMCA. Except there was this weird atmosphere with everyone being so intense and acting like it was such a hardcore workout. I had never realized how serious bodyweight squats were.

Halfway through, all of the men took their shirts off and everyone was sweaty and moving around frantically in this small space, and I felt more than once that I was participating in the precursor to an orgy – though this effect was somewhat ruined by the fact that someone had brought their kids, and another person had brought their dog.

I didn’t keep score, although apparently if you are super serious about your workout, then keeping score is important because it allows you to compare yourself to others and feel validated. I just pushed myself as hard as I could, got sweaty, felt the burn in my quads, etc. I had fun and I will fully admit that. Not that I’m about to become a Crossfit convert any time soon, but I can see the appeal: I was made to feel like I was a champ for completing a fairly basic workout. So that’s my affirmation for the day:

(2) I crushed my first ever Crossfit workout.

I did go buy groceries after the gym, but otherwise I’ve been feeling kind of lazy and drained all day. It might be from doing half an hour of cardio, or I might be glycogen depleted, or I might be hormonal…. or it might be a combination of all three. Looking at my meals today (and yesterday), I don’t think I’ve been eating enough carbs to support my level of activity. This hasn’t exactly been a conscious choice, so I need to make sure I cook up some sweet potatoes or rice tomorrow.

*I am 5’2″ and my body knows this. It’s smart enough to prevent me from doing box jumps on a 20″ box.

Food Journal

8:25 – Breakfast –

  • 2 eggs over easy
  • 1 cupped handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 2 thumbs of almond butter
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 2 probiotic caps

1:00 – Lunch – Super Shake

  • 1 scoop of whey
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 banana
  • 1/8 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 cupped handfuls of baby kale
  • splash of vanilla

5:30 – Supper –

  • 2 bison sausages w/casings removed
  • 1/2 a small red cabbage
  • 1/2 cup of Primavera
  • 23 g R/S almonds

I am going out this evening and I know there will be snacks. I had planned on having a meal earlier and then eating right before I went to best manage my hunger. But instead I took a really long afternoon nap and ate when I woke up hungry. So at least I’m still rocking at recovery. And I get really excited when I eat purple vegetables because it’s so rare that it happens, and I do try to eat a full spectrum of colours.

One thought on “Food Journal Day 8

  1. “Except there was this weird atmosphere with everyone being so intense and acting like it was such a hardcore workout. I had never realized how serious bodyweight squats were.” — most accurate description of a CrossFit class ever!!

    Years ago, when I first got into CrossFit (before I got into lifting) I thought CrossFit was very very very fucking serious. When I came back after a couple years of lifting, I thought everyone’s seriousness was absolutely hilarious. Hilarious as CF is though, I will never stop secretly (publicly) loving it.

Leave a Reply

