GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 11

3 Comments

I’ve spent most of today frantically running around town, trying to finish some of my Christmas shopping before I fly home. But I had to stop for a minute and catch my breath when I called my mom and she told me that my father had a heart attack.

In a way, this is a kind of funny. In my blog entry yesterday, I said I was generally stressed out that my parents would have a heart attack at any moment. And apparently my dad has done exactly that, and he didn’t even realize it.

The good news is that the heart attack happened in the spring and it wasn’t caught until his physical in the fall, so obviously he’s doing ok. And the prescription was an exercise program that he’s continuing to follow three times/week. So all in all I think that’s a pretty good outcome, though I’m still mystified as to how a person can miss their own heart attack.

I did manage to convince my mother that she should try my mustard chicken thigh recipe while I’m home. So that’s a success for the day. As for my self-affirmation: (4) I am doing a much better job of keeping red-light foods out of my house and I feel good about what I’ve been eating.

Food Diary

7:50 – Breakfast

  • 1 fist-sized serving of 0% plain greek yogurt
  • 1 thumb of honey
  • 1 thumb of walnut pieces
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil

11:55 – Lunch

  • Swirly Crustless quiche: 2 eggs + 1 cupped handful of grated carrot & zucchini
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 2 thumbs of almond butter

2:30 –

  • 2 thumbs of 99% dark chocolate

3:40 – Post-workout – Super shake

  • 1 scoop whey
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/8 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 generous handful of spinach
  • splash of vanilla
  • 1 tbsp cocoa nibs

7:20 – Supper

  • 1 egg over easy
  • 3 pieces of bacon
  • 1 fist-sized yam
  • 1 cupped handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cupped handful of mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 medium onion
  • sprinkle of fresh parsley
3 thoughts on “Food Journal Day 11

  1. Weirdly, my mother in law had the same thing happen a few years ago. I guess they aren’t always terrible and painful :\

    I hope he’s doing OK now.

    Your food log looks so good lately. I’m jealous of your willpower.

    • I assumed that since he is so, so overweight, he just feels crappy all of the time and therefore couldn’t differentiate general crappiness from heart attack pain. Which actually makes me quite sad. I talked to him on the phone and he didn’t even mention it, so I that tells me he’s doing well.

      And! Don’t think I haven’t been eyeing bread and enchiladas with envy! But I will say this about PNLE: I finally feel like they’ve taught me how to put a good system into place so all of this eating is happening quite automatically . For once in my life, I no longer feel like a healthy diet is a test of my willpower. (What a huge relief.)

      • hahaha Yes, I am currently trying out a new diet… it’s called ::ahem:: not being a fucking nazi-turd to myself. (also trying to find a balance so I don’t feel the need to test my willpower constantly!)

        Since I live in the middle of NOWHERE now, I can’t eat out anymore. So everything I eat is home made and generally not terrible for me and I’m trying to accept that. I’m watching my quantities and qualities in a general way, and trying very hard not to put a zillion rules on myself. Portion control without calorie counting. Quality foods without setting things off limits. etc. Feeling good so far and enjoying baking again 🙂

        Debating on re-writing my “about” page and shit….since I’m no longer the queen of paleo… but that’s such a chore/commitment.

Leave a Reply

