GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 13

Leave a comment

And… I’m officially stressed to be home.

We went grocery shopping. I told my mom she didn’t need to buy 2 boxes of ice cream/week for herself. She said, “Well, I normally buy 4. So this is an improvement.” And then we bought junk food for my dad – tons of chips and pretzels and chocolate – only to come home to him eating McDonald’s poutine. Chips and cheesies are not a meal. But then this morning I made a really simple meal: I mixed together eggs with grated vegetables and threw it in the oven. My dad said this seemed like a lot of work.

Fuuuuuck.

I just feel very helpless and frustrated. My mom told me that she couldn’t drink black coffee because it made her feel “not well”. But I just want to ask how she can ever feel well when her quality of life is so obviously deteriorated. We’re talking about a woman who was out of breath after peeling three carrots.

I do recognize that these are my parents and I want what’s best for them. And I finally feel like everything has fallen into place with Precision Nutrition: I had some sort of lightbulb moment and now I am eating healthfully and it’s rather automatic. I’m not counting calories, I’m not on a diet and even though nothing is technically off limits, I want to eat well. It’s all so easy and simple. Just do it for yourselves! And meanwhile I feel so helpless.

I’m especially irritable today. Obviously flying across time zones and sleeping in a strange bed don’t exactly make for good quality recovery. And my digestive system doesn’t seem to have kept up. So I am feeling somewhat irritable and I don’t think that’s helping me deal with anything.

I stretched for an hour today because I knew that was really what I needed. So self-affirmation (6): I have gotten much better at tuning into my body. I am mindful of when things are working, and when I need to fix something.

Food Journal

10:00 – Breakfast –

  • 1 piece of swirly crustless quiche (2 eggs, 1 cupped handful grated zucchinni + carrots)
  • 1 cupped handful brown & wild rice
  • 1/2 thumb of butter
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

3:00 – Lunch – Super shake

  • 1 large banana
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/8 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 scoop of whey
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • 1 red bell pepper

7:10 – Dinner – Double Pork tenderloin

  • 1 fist sized serving tenderloin
  • 3 slices of bacon
  • 1 cupped handful steamed broccoli
  • 1 red potato, baked, drizzled with olive oil

I might have underestimated the amount of meat here slightly, just because I took a couple of extra slices after my initial serving… but it was just until I was 80% full so that’s fine.

Leave a Reply

