GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Revisiting my food logging

1 Comment

Welcome back to my food journal. The past week has been kind of crazy.Seeing my parents was good? but stressful? I hadn’t been home in two years and it will probably be another two before I go back. Generally everyone was well-behaved but at one point I cried and said, “How am I supposed to let it go? I just can’t sit and watch you guys eating yourself to death!” So that was not fun. And I am still of the opinion that a party-sized bag of Tostitos does not constitute a “meal”. And Cheetos are not “a step up.”

But I am home now, and generally returned to the sanity of a regular meal schedule. I spent most of the weekend just sleeping but I guess now it’s back to food journalling. I found this habit to be really helpful for maintaining my consistency. Overall I felt like I could bend the rules enough to stay sane and when I did eat brie or fro-yo, I didn’t feel guilty.  Then I stopped journalling and I was struggling to remember the last time I’d eaten, and when I did eat it, they were not great choices. Honestly, journalling really does help keep my headspace clean, and I need that because my head is just a messy place. Life is untidy and I will always have a strong instinct to try and impose some semblance of order.

And maybe one day I will blog about lifting again. I am going to do a meet this year. After PNLE is done in July. But I still plan to talk a lot about food because I needed to figure out my diet before I could feel confident in my lifting. And maybe the scale doesn’t reflect any progress at the moment, but it is slowly happening. I swear. Also, I am less opinionated about lifting these days. People can do whatever they want. There are tons of stupid things you can do at the gym to feel good about yourself and you’re still ahead of everyone who is sitting at home, eating chocolate for breakfast.

Also, if you haven’t noticed, I am food obsessed. It may be a symptom of my Former Fat Kid Syndrome, but I have a lot of opinions when it comes to food and not just when it comes to my parents’ diets. Example:

I messaged a guy on OKC this weekend. I thought his profile was kind of hilarious because he devoted an entire paragraph to describing himself as Paleo. Which I thought was pretty fair, because we are what we eat. But then he listed Coke Zero as one of the things he couldn’t live without.

I asked if Coke Zero was Paleo.

He wrote back a rather hostile message, saying that Paleo wasn’t a religion so he wasn’t going to be speared and he didn’t have to eat “literally like a caveman would.”

I replied: I know what Paleo is. It just seems funny that if the principle of Paleo is not to eat like a caveman, then it’s to eat wholesome and nourishing foods… and Coke Zero is neither nourishing, nor food. At some point I couldn’t justify my Diet Coke habit, and even though I sometimes say I’m Paleo, I still eat oatmeal and quinoa and rice.

“A little quinoa and rice are fine occasionally and won’t kill you unless you eat them at every meal.”

I didn’t respond. Obviously we are not compatible.

Food Journal

8:40 – Breakfast – Sweet Potato hash w/fried eggs

  • 1 fist-sized sweet potato
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of bacon
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

12:25 – Lunch – Stir-fry

  • 1 thumb of coconut oil
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 cupped handful of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cupped handful of canned, diced tomatoes
  • 1 cupped handful chick peas
  • 1 pam-sized serving of beef

15:40 – Post-workout

  • 1 cupped handful 2% cottage cheese
  • aprx. 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 thumb of almond hazelnut butter
  • 1 med. banana
  • 3 mini cucumbers with sea salt
  • 2 thumbs of 99% dark chocolate

16:45 – Holiday tea @ Second Cup

19:35 – Supper – Curried Chickpeas with Spinach

  • 1 thumb EVOO
  • 1 cupped handful of chickpeas
  • aprx. 2 oz tomato paste
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 heading handful of baby spinach
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 palm-sized serving of plain greek yogurt

* Will make this meal again!

 

One thought on “Revisiting my food logging

  1. Pingback: How to Take Control of Your Diet with Healthy Habits – healthontopwordpress

Leave a Reply

