GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Reflections on last year’s resolutions

Leave a comment

If I’m not mistaken, I saw a bandwagon drive through my blogroll and I think I’m supposed to jump on by reviewing my 2013 resolutions and setting some goals for the new year. And, this week marks the 6-month anniversary of beginning PNLE, or the half way mark, so I’m supposed to be documenting all of the amazing progress I’ve made.

Well. Let’s review: my goals for the year were to perform a pull-up, get my wilks over 400 and get down a weight class. None of that happened. So I guess that makes goal-setting for next year pretty damn easy.

A small part of me is disappointed. And I’ve been avoiding completing my PNLE lessons this week because I don’t really want to think about the fact that I haven’t really made any progress on the program in terms of weight loss in the past 6 months, despite the fact that I am unemployed and paying $100/month to try and figure my shit out.

But a much larger part of me is totally okay with where I’m at, mostly because I can’t find the energy to waste on beating myself up. Life happened this year. Between graduating and being unemployed and moving and being hit with a really bad case of the blues, my fitness goals kind of took a back seat. And I’ve been working on being kinder to myself, so I think I’ve just had to accept that 2013 was not a year of failure, it was just another year of me being human.

And you know what? I have made progress. I am being kinder to myself, which I have to say to is really fricken’ hard sometimes and totally goes again all of my natural instincts.

Maybe I don’t weight less than I did at this time last year. But as someone who once weighed +250lbs, maintaining a weight of 170 ain’t too shabby.

I learned how cook – I even cooked a pretty healthy Christmas dinner for 7 people last week! Not only do I feel like a rockstar every time I crank out a delicious meal, but the quality of food that I’m eating is much improved so that I’m no longer trying to subsist off 1200 calories of packaged Frankenfoods every day. Also, I’ve finally figured out what was causing all of my gastrointestinal issues. It was corn. It was definitely corn. I noticed that my digestive issues had largely resolved themselves now that corn has been completely eliminated from my diet. I think it had been sneaking in in a lot of be places, and I finally cut it out entirely and didn’t want to try eating it just to see if I got sick. Well, over the holidays my sister was quite impressed with my ability to identify which of her baked goods contained corn syrup and which did not, based solely on how I felt 20 minutes after eating them. So corn is out.

And finally, one thing that PNLE has really emphasized for me is the importance of good quality recovery. Not only do I feel better physically, but making my recovery a priority has really helped improve my overall outlook – which I consider to be a PR in life, and way more important than being able to perform a single, measly pull-up.

Who knows where I’ll be a year from now. Hopefully I will be employed and at peace with the fact that I’ve surpassed the quarter century mark. Hopefully I’ll have a wilks of 400, and I’ll be down a weight class and I’ll have performed my first pull-up. But eh. I don’t really care. Sayanora 2013.

Food Log

9:15 – Breakfast – Oatmeal + Cottage cheese

  • 1 cupped handful 2% cottage cheese
  • 1 cupped handful of steel cut oatmeal mixed with:
    • 1/3 green apple
    • 1/3 cup cranberries
    • splash of almond milk

    + 1 extra heaping spoonful while cleaning up

  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

13:00 – Lunch – Curried chickpeas & spinach

  • 1 thumb coconut oil
  • 1 cupped handful of chickpeas
  • aprx. 2 oz tomato paste
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 heading handful of baby spinach
  • 1/2 large onion
  • 1 palm-sized serving of plain greek yogurt

17:34 – Supper – Eggs & hash

  • 2 eggs over-easy
  • 1 fist-sized sweet potato
  • 3 strips of bacon
  • 1 cupped handful of grape tomatoes
  • 2 thumbs 99% dark chocolate

23:00 – Snack

  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 cupped handful 0% greek yogurt
  • 1 thumb of honey
  • 1 thumb of walnut pieces
  • 1 cupped handful baby carrots
Leave a Reply

