GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

New Year’s Day

Leave a comment

Let’s talk about the gym a bit, because even though I try to lift, all I ever talk about is food. And yesterday I definitely saw my first resolutioner in the gym: he was wearing ankle weights to do sumo deadlifts and OHP. I found the spectacle quite entertaining but then the dude asked me why I was wearing a belt and told me my squats looked heavy. So I feel properly chastised for judging.

I was suffering from the same affliction as Lifterly, namely boredom with 5/3/1. The word “boring” is in the name of the program, so that’s hardly surprising. But I just wasn’t feeling motivated to do my workouts,  they didn’t feel challenging enough and I wasn’t doing enough volume when I did get into the gym. And have I mentioned how much I’ve been struggling to feel confident in my squat? Well, squatting once a week wasn’t fixing that.

So I decided to do exactly the opposite of what I’m doing, and fall back on my usual MO, which is to copy whatever is currently working for Gabe Malone: in this case, squat every day. The squat that guy told me looked heavy? 250lbs! Not bad considering my all-time PR is only 305lbs at about the same bodyweight.

But today is day 3 of this plan, and I didn’t squat today. My gym is closed for the holiday, and I’m ok with that. I needed a bit of a rest day. I am totally a party animal, and I rang in the New Year by staying home alone and watching Suits on Netflix. I didn’t fall asleep until 6 am and then I wasn’t surprised when I woke up a few hours later feeling shitty. I considered napping all day and skipping my workout since the gym is closed. But I decided just to do a bodyweight routine today and then stretched and foam rolled. I would really, really like to start off the new year with 100% consistency on my PNLE habits this month. If I get over 90% I’ll be happy; I was on track to do this in December but then Christmas happened and everything fell apart. But it’s 2014 so everything will be better!

Food Log

3:30 – Midnight snack

  • 1 cupped handful steel cut oats cooked in almond milk
    • 1/3 granny smith apple
    • 1/3 cup cranberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 thumb 99% cacao powder
  • 1 thumb natural almonds
  • 1 cup herbal tea

No protein because insomniacs don’t need protein.

10:15 – Breakfast

  • 1 palm sized filet of applewoord smoked salmon
  • 1 cupped handful steel cut oats cooked in almond milk
    • 1/3 granny smith apple
    • 1/3 cup cranberries
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

14:45 – Lunch – Eggs + Hash

  • 1 fist sized sweet potato
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 strips bacon
  • 1 cupped handful of bacon
  • 1 thumb sized serving of 99% dark chocolate

18:50 – Supper – Stir-fry

  • 1 thumb coconut oil
  • 1 cupped handful black beans
  • 1 palm-sized serving beef strips
  • 3 thumbs “umami sauce” – nutritional yeast, ACV, coconut aminos
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 cupped handful mushroom slices
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1 thumb almond hazelnut butter
  • 1 thumb 99% dark chocolate

20:00 – Incurable snacking cravings

  • Too many green apples, nuts, almond milk, almond butter, a banana and some bacon.
Leave a Reply

