GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Stuff about birth control

7 Comments

I threw out my honey last night. I was abusing that shit. I also threw out the frozen fruit I bought while grocery shopping, because I am an addict who does not understand the concept of self-restraint when it comes to sugar.

I was supposed to have a body fat assessment today. I was seriously considering rescheduling because I had already cried when I weighed myself this morning. But then Dave messaged me and asked to reschedule due to the weather. And so instead I went and dealt with my uterus issues, which I am now about to broadcast all over my blog.

Almost four years ago, I had a Mirena IUD inserted. It has been a nightmare. I have a handful of friends who love their IUD and sing its praises without exception. So, I have tried very hard to fit in and tried to love my birth control. It’s not like there are a ton of other options when you’re morbidly obese and have high blood pressure. But, I also haven’t been having a lot of sex. Instead, I’ve consistently had the longest periods known to womankind. I don’t care what the doctors say, 10 days of spotting every month + a full period is not the same as having “a normal period”.

I’ve also had some episodes of PMS where I act bat shit insane, to the point where one doctor suggested I have PMDD. Two other doctors just said I was depressed and gave me an antidepressant. I told all of these doctors I had an IUD and suggested that could be the culprit. They all said, “No way!” and I continued to act insane while bleeding out of my vagina all of the goddamn time. For four years.

Unfortunately, Dr. Google agrees with me. Not only are changes in mood a reported side effect of the Mirena but there are also a lot of women online who say the same thing I did: after they got their Mirena, they became moody, irritable and depressed or they just generally suffered from extreme PMS.

Except I had no family doctor and the IUD needs to be removed by someone who knows what they’re doing – not just any random doctor. So I finally caved and asked a friend where I could go. She suggested the city’s Sexual Health clinic and when I called, they told me I could come during their walk-in hours and have it removed. So off I went, to meet a nurse who triaged me and said, “Oh don’t worry dear. I see this all of the time in women who get the IUD.”

So I have spent all afternoon at the doctor’s office. I’ve seen three different nurses. They were all wonderful. I could have hugged them all. One of them even removed my IUD. It’s gone! I am so relieved. I am so relieved. In fact, for about half an hour, this was me:

Running women

Freedom!

tampon 3

OMG so free!

tampon 4

YES!

I might still be running through sunny pastures if it weren’t the middle of winter, and if I were feeling a bit better. As much as I am relieved to finally be free of that contraption, it has been a long day and it didn’t exactly end on a high note.

First, the nurse who removed my IUD said that one of the arms of the IUD was twisted when she removed it. This could be the reason that my period never stopped in the first place. But more worrisome is the fact that one of my smears came back abnormal. The nurse says that my strings for removal were cut too long, which was causing the IUD to sit lower than it should have, and this may have caused an autoimmune response from my body… but there’s also a chance that I have a bacterial infection. So I just have to wait for the full test results.

In the meantime, I am emotionally exhausted. I had to spend a lot of time waiting around and then explaining repeatedly how I ended up in this situation. And apparently if you go to a sexual health clinic and suggest that you want your birth control removed, they want to know what you’ll be using instead – and “I am not having sex with anyone” is not considered a well-planned alternative, no matter how many times you say it.

Physically, I was surprised at how innocuous the removal procedure itself was, but now my abdomen feels crampy and my back is sore. I did not lift. I do not care. This isn’t something that happens every day in my life. I really should celebrate.

Food log

8:55 – Breakfast –

  • 1 cupped handful bison & white bean chili
  • 1 palm sized serving of greek yogurt
  • 1/2 roma tomato
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

12:25 – Lunch

  • 1 fist-sized serving of cottage cheese
  • 1 cupped handful of frozen cherries
  • 1 thumb of almonds

18:50 – Dinner

  • 1 cupped handful bison & white bean chili
  • 1 palm sized serving of greek yogurt
  • 1/2 roma tomato
  • 1 granny smith apple
7 thoughts on “Stuff about birth control

  1. huge, huge vote of support for you from my camp. I was on the pill for 8 (or nine, depends on what month I started and now I don’t even remember) years and while my period behaved very well for me on it, that shit was NOT ok for me to be taking. I have migraines with aura and those who do need to not take combination hormone birth control pills because of high risk of stroke. And I did not know this and took it for EIGHT YEARS. The thing is, for most of those years I have switched doctors constantly and have not mentioned my migraines aside from on the healthcare sheets you fill out, which apparently they don’t read. I finally saw a doctor about my migraines for the first time in 14 years and the first thing he said was taht I could not be taking those pills anymore. I will never get an IUD. We’re doing well with non-hormonal BC and I’m happy. Major fist pump to you.

  2. So much support for you in getting that thing out of you! Any form of hormonal birth control (which Mirena is) MAKES ME CRAZY, TOTALLY FUCKING INSANE, CRAZY. You are not alone. When I was younger I was on the pill and super depressed and the doctor said the same shit to me “NO WAY! It’s low hormone!” FUCK THAT. Everyone is different, and some people just can’t handle it. I had the same thing happen on “the ring”, “the shot”, and “the patch”. Even the tiniest bit of hormones makes me borderline suicidal and ready to divorce my husband.

    I now have a non-hormonal copper IUD (which I love), but it took me years to find something that works for me.

    Congrats on listening to your body and doing what you need to do! Enjoy your freedom!

    • They offered me the copper IUD but I had heavy periods before the mirena, so it wasn’t recommended. I’m going to wait a while to see what happens without any type of birth control and then we’ll see… The nurse did say that they’re coming out with a smaller and lower dosage mirena next year, which I would consider given the right circumstances.

      • Yeah, the copper IUD did make my periods heavier, but they were only like 3-4 days long before and light… so now they are like 7 days, which is I guess what most people would consider “normal”.

        Good luck deciding, but I would personally never go back to hormonal birth control. Too much crazy for me. I’d rather use condoms.

      • I just want my tubes tied!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • I’m not sure you mentioned this above, but it have you tried pills with only progesteron? those help many who experience excessive bleeding. just a thought if that particular problem remains.

  3. so glad you were able to get it taken out! Going off hormonal birth control was one of my better life decisions (I have a copper IUD now).

    Dealing with doctors can be so frustrating, the fact that they wouldn’t even entertain the notion that your Mirena could be causing problems is infuriating.

Leave a Reply

