GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Skating, squats & stew

2 Comments

I had my bodyfat assessment this morning: 21%, which means I’m up about 3% since October but still lower than I was when I started PNLE. I don’t even care.

After my appointment, I bussed to the mall just so that I could skate to the grocery store. Which means that I went for another half hour skate today! Skating in daylight made the world of difference. I mean, I still fell on my ass three times, but I managed to travel a lot further. As much as I am a slow and shaky skater with shoddy skates, I have to say I really love skating on the canal. It’s an excuse to be outside in the cold, without actually feeling cold. And it’s just the right amount of feeling like I’m going to break my arm at any second.

I will say that I was pleasantly surprised this morning. I’ve only ever skated as a fat person, and I always thought it was a given that the first skate of the season leads to days of extreme soreness. Ha. Turns out I was just in denial about how out of shape I really was. Instead, I woke up feeling very limber this morning  and even on my second round, it was the technical aspects of skating that I struggled with. Stopping still kind of eludes me. Hopefully my technique will improve with some more practice. Either way, I always have to take a minute and pause when I’m caught by surprise, realizing how I’ve changed over the past  couple of years. And it’s nice to know I can still have those moments.

Back home on the range, I made compost soup in my slow cooker. “Compost soup” basically makes use of whatever ingredients I’ve got in the fridge – the ingredients that would otherwise end up in the compost. I am kind of proud of this meal because it involved cooking without following a recipe, which is still kind of a big deal for me. And this was the perfect meal to have waiting for me when I got home from the gym this evening. It was cold and mega-icy and just generally treacherous on the way to the gym and I needed something to warm me up.

It was totally worth it to go to the gym despite the cold, though. The gym was insanely busy – my first taste of the 2014 resolutioners, I guess- but I have my slaves trained well, and someone offered their rack to me as soon as I walked in. In order to justify this act of kindness, I felt that I needed to do something impressive. So I squatted 250×3. I’m impressed. And I guess that’s not my 1RM anymore.

Food Log

8:00 – Breakfast –

  • 1 slice of swirly crustless quiche – 2 eggs + some zucchini and carrot
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 thumb of almonds
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil

12:30 – Lunch –

  • 1 cupped handful white bean & bison chili
  • 1 palm sized serving of greek yogurt
  • 1/4 roma tomato
  • cup of gingerbread tea

14:05 –

  • 1 oz dark chocolate

16:25 – Snack

  • 1 cupped handful of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 thumb of cocoa powder
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
  • 1 small green apple

19:40 – Dinner

  • 1 palm sized serving greek yogurt
  • 1 cup beef soup: stewing beef, potatoes, carrots, celery, onion & peas in a beef, tomato & coffee broth
2 thoughts on “Skating, squats & stew

  1. Woah dude! 21% bf is pretty awesome! How do you do your assessments? Calipers?

Leave a Reply

