GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

More skating

3 Comments

IMG_0898

View of the canal at Pretoria today

I think I have a problem. It’s called skating. I am addicted to the insane feeling of freedom that I get from skating on the canal. First thing I did this morning – after breakfast and a cup of coffee – was go for another skate on the canal. I only fell once today – and it was a stupid fall because I wasn’t looking where I was going when I turned, and I somehow ended up in a tire track. So I think I should just give up on this job hunt thing that I’ve got going on, because all I want to do is skate until my feet fall off.

After skating, I spent the day debating whether or not I should lift. I am trying to squat every day, which I’m finding has been good for “greasing the groove” and keeping my hips mobile. (Side note: If you haven’t seen this article on the squat mechanics of the femur yet, it’s incredibly fascinating.) On the other hand, I’m supposed to be taking a break from PNLE this week, which includes gym time. And I’d already skated. And my energy levels have been low.

I’m a bit worried about anemia at the moment. After skating, I fell asleep on the floor of my den, playing with my cat. Which is weird, because I’m getting good quality sleep and eating well. But… since having my IUD removed on Monday, I’ve lost 3% of my body weight in 5 days. That is honestly a bit scary. And it’s scary when I consider that most of it seems to have been expelled from my uterus… TMI?

Anyway, I ended up lifting. I had to walk by the gym on the way home from the library, so I figured I might as well go inside. I squatted 225×3 unbelted and then did alternating incline dumbbell bench presses (love these!) and front squats as accessory work. It was a light day and I’m hoping to feel more lively tomorrow.

Food Log

9:10 – Breakfast –

  • 1 slice of swirly crustless quiche – 2 eggs + some zucchini and carrot
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 thumb of almonds
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil

12:25 – Lunch

  • 2 cups of beef soup: stewing beef, potatoes, carrots, celery, onion, peas in a beef, tomato paste & coffee broth

16:10 – Snack – Eggs & hash

  • 1 thumb of coconut oil
  • 1 fist-sized sweet potato
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots

20:15 – Supper – Giant Ol’ Stir-fry

  • 1 palm sized serving of chicken breast
  • 1 cupped handful of wild rice
  • florets from 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 cupped handful of snow peas
  • 1 small onion
  • 5 brown mushrooms
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 endive
  • Sauce:
    • 1/2 tbsp almond butter
    • 1/2 tbsp sesame oil
    • 1/2 tbsp rice vinegar
    • 2 tbsp coconut aminos
    • 1 clove of garlic
    • Squirt of sriracha

 

3 thoughts on “More skating

  1. Nothing bad about a light day. Sets us up for those days where we can go all out. Sounds like you had a hard week. Hope you’re feeling better soon

  2. So jealous, that looks fun. I’ve only ever ice skated in circles on a rink!

    • Haha, I always figure the derby girls must love the canal!

      And this is easily one of my favourite parts of living in this city, because until I moved here, I’d only ever skated on hockey rinks, myself.

Leave a Reply

