GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Deadlifting 3 plates, again

2 Comments

In early December, I deadlifted 225×100 for some stupid competition, which I totally won. But ever since then, things have just felt off on my deadlift. I’ve been struggling to lift 280. But I just wanted to prove to myself that I still knew how to deadlift. And normally I deadlift on Fridays after I squat, but tonight both of the racks were in use when I got to the gym and I deadlifted first. Somehow all of this was justification for me to attempt 3 plates. I just wanted to see if I still had it in me!

Of course, as soon as I’d loaded up the bar, Dan walked by and said, “Big weight, big weight!” which made everyone in the gym stop and look. Thanks, Dan.

I wanted three reps. I didn’t think I’d get one, but I still wanted a triple.

I got three reps.

I got three motherfuckin’ reps!

Woo!

One of the guys who was watching said, “Christ, you’re putting us all to shame,” which is totally a compliment that makes me happy. I didn’t need to compliment, though. I am beyond happy. I pulled 315×3! I was even pleased with how fast each rep moved; the lockout on the third rep was somewhat slow, but that’s nothing new. Guess I haven’t quite lost my deadlifting mojo, after all.

I followed up with 275x3x6 and then I was fucking starving but I still wanted to get in my daily set of squats. I worked up to 235×5 and I recorded myself just to check my depth. I’ve had this suspicion that I’m cutting my squats high, especially being pre-fatigued from so much heavy deadlifting, I knew today would be a good day to catch myself cheating.

paralell

Apparently I’ve forgotten what it feels like to squat to parallel because all of my squats were much deeper than I thought – and in hindsight this actually makes sense. I’ know that I’ve been relying on my recoil to get out of the hole and that can only happen if I get low enough. Which means I do in fact remember how to squat and deadlift.

So that’s a couple of good things happening in the gym today. I’m starting to feel excited about doing a meet this year. I still haven’t quite decided which meet I’m going to do, but I’m oscillating between one in August and one in September. I might even be able to PR by then!

In the meantime: tomorrow I am going to opt for my “Eat whatever you want day”. PNLE told me to do this, I swear. (The caveat is that I am not allowed to eat past the point of fullness.) I bought bread today because I am a rebel and all I really want to do eat is some bread. And probably a burger with fries. We’ll see. But either way, it’s going to be the best day ever. Maybe even better than pulling 315×3.

Food Log

8:10 – Breakfast –

  • 1 slice of swirly crustless quiche = 2 eggs + some zucchini and carrot
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 thumb of almonds
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil

12:00 – Lunch

  • 1 1/2 cups of beef stew: beef, veg, “herbs ‘n shit”
  • 1 palm of greek yogurt

15:15 – Snack – Purple Salad

  • 3 small beets, grated
  • 1 granny smith apple, grated
  • 1 cupped handful of cottage cheese
  • 1 cupped handful of frozen blueberries
  • 1 thumb of almonds

This was really good, but it gave me a stomach ache.

19:00 – Dinner – Salad

  • 1 cupped handful of cottage cheese
  • 1 cupped handful cherry tomatoes
  • 1 fist sized serving of english cucumber
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 glug of olive oil
  • 1 glug of ACV
  • Dash of gomasio
  • 1 oz 78% dark chocolate

This meal was also very good, and it didn’t give me a stomach ache.

2 thoughts on “Deadlifting 3 plates, again

  1. Fantastic. Love that squat shot. How could you not know you were squatting so deep? That looks very much like thigh-to-calf. Can’t go much deeper than that.

Leave a Reply

