GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Shoulder pump day!

Leave a comment

After a PNLE break, it was back to having a prescribed habit and a workout today. I’m supposed to be choosing one small action that will improve my consistency over the next couple of weeks, and my coach was in touch to hear what I wanted to focus on.

Nutritionally, I feel like I’m doing alright. I said I wanted to do a bit of a pantry-challenge and limit the number of groceries that I’m buying over the next couple of weeks. I still want to do that, but my coach said I should choose a specific habit that I’m struggling with, and aim to do it better so I’m going to focus on trying to eat more fruit & veg. I added an extra serving of berries to my breakfast, and tomatoes to my lunch.

As I mentioned yesterday, I have been really focusing on my upper-body accessory work and I want to make the conscious effort to  incorporate more lower-body work, and to do more hypertrophy in my accessory work. So in an effort to be more balanced, I did my daily squats (240×5) and bench (105x8x3) and then I did the PNLE workout, which included split squats and single-legged RDLs.

I will say that in addition to being more balanced, these workouts are also better for my conditioning. My favourite part of my workout was of course the lateral raises, done for 60 seconds, AMRAP. I had an Arnold-level shoulder pump happening. And then I had to come home and take a nap.

Food Log

8:10 – Breakfast

  • 1 cupped handful steel cut oats with blueberries and walnuts
  • 1/4 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 palm sized serving of greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup black coffee

11:50 – Lunch

  • 1 slice swirly crustless quiche – 2 eggs +some shredded carrot & zucchini
  • 1 cupped handful of grape tomatoes
  • 1 thumb of almonds
  • 1 granny smith apple

15:50 – Snack

  • 2 cupped handfuls of beef stew with potatoes, veg, broth, etc.

19:10 – Dinner – Stir Fry

  • 1 palm sized serving of chicken breast
  • 1 small onion
  • 5 brown mushrooms
  • 1 fist-sized serving of endive
  • 1 cupped handful of snow peas
  • 1 cupped handful of wild rice
  • Sauce:
    • 1 clove of garlic
    • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
    • 1 tsp sesame oil
    • 2 tbsp coconut aminos
    • splash of sriracha
    • dash of ginger

 

Leave a Reply

