GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Dreaming of oysters & rack pulls

Leave a comment

One of the things I had to do for PNLE was start keeping a journal next to my bed. Before I go to sleep, I write whatever is floating around my brain and usually plan out what I’m going to eat tomorrow. Last night I woke up at 2 am and felt restless. Apparently I was restless enough to leave myself this message to discover in the morning:

Can’t sleep. Upsetting dream. At home [my parent’s house] and H [my sister] has been missing for months. Seems like she is still in high school. Mom took a picture of me in the basement and H’s ghost turned up in the background. (Looked like the girl from The Ring.) Knew this was a clue, but too scared to go into the basement anymore. While watching Lizzie McGuire, I realized that the moth balls in the basement were from an oyster. Internet research confirmed. Then we found a giant oyster in the basement closet and started trying to smash it open with a shovel. I knew that H was trapped inside.

Woke up. Not sure if H was rescued. Should be a movie.

Apparently I’m a mental case even when I’m asleep and that will be the last time that I eat cottage cheese before bed.

Anyway, as a follow up to yesterday’s post: yes, I know that I need muscle to be strong. And yes, I know that BMI is skewed for people who are muscular or athletic. But… I don’t particularly think of myself as athletic. Going to the gym regularly does not make a person an athlete. I still suck at running and swimming and team sports, and I have no visible muscle definition. So sometimes I feel like I’m just plain fat. I know it’s largely a mental problem… and sometimes I just need to write down my meandering train of thought to sort it all out. What I know rationally does not always jive with what I’ve been conditioned to believe.

Back in reality, I did not sleep well last night and I am still feeling kind of drained today. I  think my uterus is a bit messed up from having my IUD yanked out last week. My body is all like, “You should be having your period this week! But you had your period last week! And you gave birth to a Mirena, so after 4 years I’m no longer being dosed with hormones every day! I don’t know what I’m supposed to do now, so I’ll just make you feel like shit.” (I am not a qualified doctor, obviously. But I’m pretty sure that’s exactly what’s happening.)

Surprisingly, I felt alright once I started lifting. At the gym, I squatted up to 255×3 which I feel pretty good about. Then I did my PNLE routine as accessory work. After yesterday’s shoulder pain, I figured I should skip benching, especially since I knew the PNLE workout would be shoulder intensive, with push-ups, OHP and inverted rows. I got through the whole thing without incident, so that’s a good sign. And I admit that maybe I’m overly paranoid, but I’ve heard of two female lifters with ribs popped out of place over the past two days, and I don’t want that to happen to me. So live to lift another day, etc.

One of my PNLE circuits included “heavy” rack pulls. I only managed 225x4x3 because I was unbelted and didn’t bother to warm-up. By the third set, these felt too easy, so that’s a good sign. Today is not a regular deadlift day for me and I’ll be interested to see what my deadlifts feel like on Friday. I usually need a full week of recovery for heavy deadlifting. But I still intend to pull +3 plates on Friday – rack pulls, shoulder, and uterus be damned.

Food Log

10:00 – Breakfast

  • 1 cupped handful of steel cut oats with blueberries and walnuts
  • 1 palm-sized serving of greek yogurt
  • 1 fist-sized serving of baby carrots
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup of black coffee

13:30 – Lunch

  • 1 fist-sized serving of cottage cheese
  • 1 thumb of PB2
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
  • 1 thumb of almonds
  • 1 oz 65% dark chocolate with maca

18:10 – Dinner

  • 1 fist-sized serving of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 thumb of PB2
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1 thumb of almond butter
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
Leave a Reply

