GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Bench PR and my ass joins the mile high club

2 Comments

Being forced to deadlift before squatting a few weeks ago really opened a whole new world of possibilities for me. Since I deadlifted heavy last night, I knew I would have to scale back my squats somewhat today. As a result, I decided to bench first, while I was still fresh, and then tackle a lighter set of squats. I am back at a stage where I feel like my bench is my weak-link, and I take that as a very good sign that I am getting back to my pre-break strength levels.

And by that, I mean I benched 140lbs today, which is the first all-time PR I’ve had in almost a year. Unpaused, but still a PR.

I tried to repeat myself on camera, but all I got this was this:

Lifts that probably would have been red lighted

“Lifts that probably would have been red lighted”

Whatever. As Dan said, “At least you got it up. I didn’t have to come rescue you from the roll of shame this week.” True.

It seems like my “Squat everyday and then do whatever you feel like” programming is working. I’m going to keep doing it. And who knows? Maybe next week I’ll feel like benching 145 with my ass down.

Food Log

8:35 – Breakfast

  • 1 fist-sized serving of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 thumb of PB2
  • 1 thumb of almond butter
  • 1 green apple
  • 2 mini cucumber
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup of black coffee

11:55 – Shepherd’s pie

  • 1 cupped handful celeriac puree
  • 1 cupped handful of ground beef
  • 1 slice of bacon
  • 1 palm sized serving of peas and carrots
  • 1/5 tbsp butter
  • 3 thumbs of homemade ketchup

15:50 – Post workout

  • 1 Italian bison sausage
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
  • 1 cupped handful of chocolate covered pretzels

19:15 – Dinner

  • 1 c. of borscht
  • 1 palm-sized serving of greek yogurt

23:15 – Midnight snack

  • 1 bison sausage
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 2 thumbs of almond butter
2 thoughts on “Bench PR and my ass joins the mile high club

  1. Congrats!! Happy for you and happy to see you back to loving the heavy weights! (p.s. it took me WAY to long to get your mile high club joke… but I got it.)

  2. A tad high, perhaps but lookit that arch! lol. I’ve only just moved up to the big plates myself. It does feel good I have to say, to load them up. Ain’t nothing shaming about the roll of shame. I’m always thankful it didn’t land on my windpipe.

Leave a Reply

