GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Bench singles and squatting

Leave a comment

Guess what I did today? The same things I do every day: squat and bench.

I got 5 heavy singles at 130lbs, but that took 7 attempts.  Here’s the thing: the attempts that I did make were relatively easy, with good speed and no sticking. But I still failed twice. I know that what I to work on my setup; I don’t always start in the right groove and when I’m doing volume work, I find it doesn’t really matter because I can still muscle it up. When I start getting closer to my 1RM, it really makes a big difference.

Then I squatted – 265×2. Wanted three and went back for an extra single. I feel like I could squat the moon if I only had to rely on my legs and not my upper back. There was a sick squat morning at one point. Whatever. This was good week because I’m now back up to where I was when I did my last meet in December 2012, which is important for my mindset. I’m not longer trying to recover the strength I’ve lost, but now I can focus on actually moving forward.

Then I played some candy crush and did seated rows. When I ran out of lives, I came home and took a nap. It’s Sunday.

I’ve felt like I’m about 2 seconds from gnawing off my own arm all weekend. I’ve been feeling very level-headed for a couple of weeks now, and eating well without feeling deprived. And it seems to be working, because I’ve dropped 9lbs since having my IUD removed and I don’t feel like I’m “on a diet”. But for some reason I’ve been thinking about ice cream and fries and chocolate all weekend. Instead of going crazy, I decided to have a piece of dark chocolate and a yogurt parfait made with granola, vanilla greek yogurt and mixed berries. I had to buy all of those things just so I could eat them, because I don’t even keep those things in the house at this point. The part of me that would have bought just bought a pint of Ben and Jerry’s is kind of shocked at how much of a treat that was.

Food Log

8:20 – Breakfast

  • 1 bison sausage
  • 1 cupped handful of baby carrots
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1 thumb of almond butter
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 1 cup of black coffee

12:10 – Shepherd’s Pie

  • 1 cupped handful celeriac puree
  • 1 cupped handful of ground beef
  • 1 slice of bacon
  • 1 palm sized serving of peas and carrots
  • 1/5 tbsp butter
  • 3 thumbs of homemade ketchup

15:00 – Post-lifting

  • 1 fist-sized serving of plain greek yogurt
  • 1 cupped handful of blueberries
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1 thumb of walnut pieces

17:30 –

  • 3 strips of bison jerky

18:15 – Baked apple

  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 2 thumbs of coconut oil
  • cinnamon
  • 1 thumb of walnut pieces
  • lemon juice

21:00 – Snack –

  • 1 fist sized serving of vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1 palm of honey, cashew & cranberry granola
  • 1 cupped handful of fruit
  • Aprx. 35 grams of dark chocolate
Leave a Reply

