GIRLS CAN LIFT

A Dainty Diary of Lifting

Food Journal Day 1

Leave a comment

This is the first entry of my Food Journal, which I intend to keep for the next 2 weeks.

I am still doing Precision Nutrition’s Lean Eating program, although during all of the stress of moving and being unemployed I ate terribly and gained a lot of weight and didn’t go to the gym. I was supposed to be keeping a food journal at that point, but my compliance was really low.

Now I’m settled into my new place and things have improved – although that’s not saying much since anything would have been considered an improvement over my habits during that period.

At the gym, I am back to powerlifting training and having mixed success. For the first time ever, I feel like my bench is progressing. It’s at least where it was when I left-off, and might even be a bit higher. Knock on wood. My deadlift was going well until I decided to deadlift 225×100 in under 30 minutes. That made me feel badass. But also a little beat up. Today at the gym, two separate people asked me if I was planning to do it again. Please no.

And then there’s my “squat” which is kind of disaster. I think I’ve forgotten how to squat. It’s like I get under the bar, and I’m stuck with a heavy weight on my back and all I can think is “What am I supposed to do?” I can’t seem to figure out my stance width. I can’t figure out how to get out of the hole without coming to a complete stop. I can’t even figure out if the bar is sitting in the right position on my back. As much as this pissing me off, I’m holding out hope that this is one of those problems that will sort itself out if I just stick with it.

Then there’s the matter of diet. Mine still isn’t perfect and it probably never will be. But there is at least some room for improvement. Earlier this week, I was reading “Lascek’s Law” on 70sBig.com and it made a lot of fucking sense. But of Strength and Health, it’s my diet that is the missing piece for me. I am lifting consistently, sleeping consistently and allowing for recovery. But lack of quality food might be the first step in explaining why I am still having struggling to accept even my own self worth.

All of that to say that I am revisiting my food journal because I kind of flubbed it the first time. And hopefully some awareness will help me get my weight back under control.

Food Diary

10:45 – Breakfast – Salad:

  • 2 slices bacon
  • 1 generous handful of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 generous handful of lettuce
  • 1/2 roma tomato
  • 1 fist-sized onion
  • 1 thumb of feta
  • 1 thumb home-made balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1 cup of black coffee
  • 1 tbsp fish oil
  • 2 probiotic capsules

1:55 – Lunch – Pre-workout –

6:10 – Supper – Stir-fry

  • 1/2 lb skirt steak
  • Florets from 1 stalk of broccoli
  • cupped handful of bean sprouts
  • 3 green onions
  • 1/2 shallot
  • 1/8 cup coconut aminos
  • 1/2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 carrot & pumpkin spice muffin
  • gingerbread tea

Leave a comment